Contact

Contact

Contact

Administrative Office

The Recreation & Parks leadership team is located at the administrative office. Information for all of the community centers can be dropped off at the main office during normal business hours.

Recreation & Parks Administrative Office

220 South Balch Street, 2nd Floor
Akron, OH 44302
Main Office: 330-375-2804
Fax: 330-375-2818

Cheryl Eaton, Administrative Assistant
Phone: 330-375-2850
CEaton@akronohio.gov

Brittany Schmoekel, Manager
Phone: 330-375-2850
BSchmoekel@akronohio.gov

 

Community Centers
We have 11 different community centers throughout the city.  Each one offers a variety of programs and services.  Each center has a supervisor that oversees the daily operations.  The Community Center Coordinator oversees all of the centers.  Please reach out with any questions about our community center division.

Jeff Mourton, Community Center Coordinator
Phone: 330-375-2859
JMourton@akronohio.gov

COMMUNITY CENTER SUPERVISORS

Ed Davis Community Center:   Robert Dowdell, RDowdell@akronohio.gov 

Ellet Community Center:  Ai Vang, AVang@akronohio.gov

Firestone Park Community Center:  Penny Bomba, PBomba@akronohio.gov

Joy Park Community Center:  Austin Clopton, AClopton@akronohio.gov

Kenmore Community Center:  Alice Incorvia, AIncorvia@akronohio.gov

Lawton Street Community Center:  Francine Blake, FBlake@akronohio.gov

Mason Park Community Center:  Whitney Humphrey,  WHumphrey@akronohio.gov

Northwest Family Recreation Center:  Christie Walsh, CWalsh@akronohio.gov

Patterson Park Community Center:  Jeff Incorvia, JIncorvia@akronohio.gov

Reservoir Park Community Center:  Interim Supervisor Jeff Incorvia, JIncorvia@akronohio.gov

Summit Lake Community Center:  Michael Dowdell, MDowdell@akronohio.gov
Community Center Safety Liaison
Safety and community outreach are major focus areas of the Recreation & Parks division.  Our Community Center Safety Liaison collaborates with city departments and stakeholders regarding safety issues in city-owned parks, community centers and their surrounding neighborhoods.  

Kenneth Patrick Littlejohn, Community Center Safety Liaison
Office:  330-375-2691   |   Cell:  330-212-6222
KPLittlejohn@akronohio.gov
Community Events
The Community Events Division processes all applications for area organizations that would like to host an event in the city and acts as the city contact for any community event. The division also processes all block party petitions, oversees the Street Pole Banner Program, showmobile rentals, and coordinates the Summer Concert Series in the parks, the Akron Arts Expo weekend, and the Welcome Santa Holiday Parade.

Laurie Chenevey, Community Events Coordinator
Phone: 330-375-2854
LChenevey@akronohio.gov
Community Learning Centers
Akron Public Schools remodeled or rebuilt their buildings and transformed the buildings into “community learning centers.”  CLCs benefit everyone.  During regular school hours CLCs serve as the modern school facilities Akron kids and teachers need. After school, on weekends and during the summer, many can be used for recreation, adult education, after-school and summer school programs, and a wide variety of community activities.  The City of Akron Recreation & Parks division oversees the scheduling of the elementary and middle schools after school, on the weekends, and during the summer.  Contact us to schedule your next meeting or program at one of the CLCs.

Jeff Incorvia, CLC Scheduling 
Phone:  330-375-2856
JIncorvia@akronohio.gov 
Shelter Rentals

The Recreation & Parks division has park shelter rentals available for a wide variety of functions including anniversaries, birthday and retirement parties, holiday and graduation parties, or bridal and baby showers.

Shelter rentals are available April - October

Please visit the Rentals tab for more information about our facilities and policies.

For additional information please contact Jeff Incorvia by email or at 330-375-2856.

Sports and Athletics Division

The Sports and Athletics division oversees the permitting of all city fields and courts, offers youth and adult sport leagues, and assists with coordinating large tournaments. The division also oversees operations for Firestone Stadium, Copley Road Soccer Complex, and the Patterson Ballfield Complex.

Melvin Blake, Sports and Athletics Coordinator
Phone: 330-375-2855
MBlake@akronohio.gov

Wellness Program Division

Our Wellness Program division focuses on social, physical, educational, cultural, and general wellness programming for all ages.

Rachel Roukey, Wellness Program Coordinator
Phone: 330-375-2853
RRoukey@akronohio.gov